t>
Affichage des articles dont le libellé est Roberto Cavalli. Afficher tous les articles
Affichage des articles dont le libellé est Roberto Cavalli. Afficher tous les articles

20100925

+++++

not the most representative way of photographing Plus Size Fashion ...


... an article I wrote about the interesting (and largely neglected) topic of Plus Size Fashion came out yesterday. For everyone familiar with the German tongue, it's online on the newspaper's website.

I just wanted to add - the fact that it took Roberto Cavalli's press office in Milan two days until they were able to even confirm the fact that the Cavalli plus size collection Class White Label exists is, well, absurd.

And the fact that the Cologne-based shop owners who photographed the Cavalli plus size clothes for their own PR purposes and who distribute the collection exclusively in Germany (in the whole world? I found only German-language websites referring to Class White Label...), so the fact that they photographed the clothes on hangers and stands - not even plus size mannequins - is also, well bizarre. To say the least. Shying away from what, we are, here? ...

20100908

SCARE me that CROW



Like a joke, really - Stéphane Rolland (left) and Maison Martin Margiela contributed to the scarecrow installation in Palais Royal in July upon invitation by Masters of Linen.

... delay, delay, what a delay: when I was in Paris for the fall 2010 Haute Couture shows, *this* (lack of words?) was going on in Palais Royal. Scarecrows, created (or decorated) by fashion designers (eg. Maison Martin Margiela, Mr. "little black dress" Didier Ludot, Stéphane Rolland, Roberto Cavalli).


I think the godmother of all bloggers, you know, the lady with the black veil (how embarrassing: I was seated next to her at Gaultier couture. At a certain point, everyone got up to watch Dita vT perform - and the lady in black actually sat down before me. Stupid little me forgot to check whether the veil had come to lie on my chair when I sat down again. Sure enough, it had. I'll leave it to your imagination just *what* happened when the veiled lady tried to get up *before* I did...), already blogged about this back then.



What do you consider to be more scary: Didier Ludot's scarecrow dress, or Roberto Cavalli's ugly-as-ever, hideous little thingy?

Still, I would like to proudly share with you my images, too. Asking myself, actually, whether creating fashion for scarecrows (the idea alone seems like a joke to me! aren't there better ways of stageing the innovative nature of linen and hemp? no?? isn't that an absurd mise en scène of the eco/alternative fashion cliché??? scarecrows????) isn't what some representatives of the floppy and shabby look do anyhow ...